Take Action: Get involved and help us protect our oceans!  Join now

Congressional Champions

Ocean Champions, a 501(c)(4), with an attached political action committee (PAC), is the first-ever political advocacy organization dedicated to protecting the ocean and its wildlife. Ocean Champions is focused on building champions for ocean conservation in the U.S. Congress.

Click on a state below, or use the drop down, to learn more about ocean champions in Congress we’ve endorsed and supported (and who won) or are endorsing in the current election. In making endorsement decisions, the Ocean Champions Board of Directors considers a number of factors, including a candidate’s past voting record on ocean issues, future leadership potential, potential committee assignments, and candidate interviews.

Click here to make a contribution to Ocean Champions – and help support political leadership for our oceans.

Congressional Cycles

2018 Endorsements2017-2018 2015-2016 2013-2014 2011-2012 2009-2010 2007-2008 2005-2006

Senators Party State
Sen. Cory Booker D nj
Sen. Barbara Boxer D ca
Sen. Maria Cantwell √ WIN D wa
Sen. Ben Cardin √ WIN D md
Sen. Tom Carper √ WIN D de
Sen. Susan Collins R me
Sen. Chris Coons D de
Sen. Dick Durbin D il
Sen. Dianne Feinstein D ca
Sen. Martin Heinrich √ WIN D nm
Sen. Mazie Hirono √ WIN D hi
Sen. Angus King √ WIN I me
Sen. Patrick Leahy D vt
Sen. Ed Markey D ma
Sen. Jeff Merkley D or
Sen. Barbara Mikulski D md
Sen. Bill Nelson *NOT CALLED D fl
Sen. Gary Peters D mi
Sen. Rob Portman R oh
Sen. Jack Reed D ri
Sen. Brian Schatz D hi
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen D nh
Sen. Debbie Stabenow √ WIN D mi
Sen. Tom Udall D nm
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse √ WIN D ri
Representatives Party District
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici √ WIN D or-1
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo D gu-
Rep. Julia Brownley √ WIN D ca-26
Rep. Lois Capps D ca-24th
Rep. Kathy Castor √ WIN D fl-14
Rep. Katherine Clark √ WIN D ma-5
Rep. James E. Clyburn √ WIN D sc-6
Rep. Joseph Crowley D ny-14
Rep. Elijah Cummings √ WIN D md-7
Rep. Peter DeFazio √ WIN D or-4
Rep. Suzan DelBene √ WIN D wa-1
Rep. Donna Edwards D md-4th
Rep. Sam Farr D ca-20th
Rep. Tulsi Gabbard D hi-2nd
Rep. John Garamendi D ca-3rd
Rep. Gwen Graham D fl-2nd
Rep. Raúl Grijalva √ WIN D az-3
Rep. Denny Heck √ WIN D wa-10
Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler √ WIN R wa-3
Rep. Mike Honda D ca-17th
Rep. Steny Hoyer √ WIN D md-5
Rep. Jared Huffman √ WIN D ca-2
Rep. Steve Israel D ny-3rd
Rep. Derek Kilmer √ WIN D wa-6
Rep. Leonard Lance X LOSS R nj-7
Rep. Frank LoBiondo R nj-2nd
Rep. Alan Lowenthal √ WIN D ca-47
Rep. Nita Lowey √ WIN D ny-17
Rep. Ann McLane Kuster √ WIN D nh-2
Rep. Jerry McNerney √ WIN D ca-9
Rep. Patrick Murphy D fl-18th
Rep. Grace Napolitano √ WIN D ca-32
Rep. Scott Peters √ WIN D ca-52
Rep. Chellie Pingree √ WIN D me-1
Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen R fl-27th
Rep. John Sarbanes √ WIN D md-3
Rep. Adam Schiff √ WIN D ca-28
Rep. Eric Swalwell √ WIN D ca-15
Rep. Mark Takano √ WIN D ca-41
Rep. Niki Tsongas D ma-3rd
Rep. Chris Van Hollen D md-8th
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz √ WIN D fl-23
House Candidate Party District